Meet Farmer Don

Hello!

My name is Don, and I am one of your farmers atIMG_20150427_110531_335 Radix this season. I have been farming in Baltimore City for the past five years, but I took the position at Radix this season to strengthen my skill set so I can hopefully start my own farm. I play banjo in a folk band, and enjoy swimming, hiking and a wide range of music from punk rock and metal to Appalachia and bluegrass. I also love making hot sauce and hope to start my own company in a few years! I might even have samples at an upcoming CSA drop. But enough about me!

We are off to a great start this season! Although the spring weather was chilly, we managed to plant a wide variety of crops and we’re planting more and more every day. Lettuce, spinach, carrots, potatoes, brassicas, herbs and cucumbers are all in the ground, with squash and tomatoes in the high tunnel, and we’ll plant peppers and field tomatoes this week.  We had a great harvest and market last week, selling out of nearly all of our offerings!  I am excited to start working the CSA drops next week and getting to know all of the members.

Come see us at the Petworth Community Market every Saturday from 9 am to 1 pm, located at Upshur and 9th Street at Georgia Ave.

Or JOIN OUR CSA! We have a few spaces left at the weekly CSA drops.  Click the CSA link above to learn more and fill out the Membership Application to join. Pick ups begin next week (5/26 and 5/28)!!
IMG_20150509_083317_433

Saturday Petworth Market!

P1070754

Don and Kristin harvesting in the high tunnel

P1070727

Don’s first week, planting potatoes

Comments are closed.